Named for UNC-CH graduate and world-renowned fashion designer Alexander Julian, this award is made to a student whose work exhibits a “high standard of design.” In selecting the winner of this prize, the faculty interprets the term “design” liberally as it relates to the appropriate consideration and integration of formal concerns and artisanship with the content of the student’s work. The recipient of this award is considered to be one of the Department of Art’s best students and is honored at the Chancellor’s Awards ceremony in the spring.


2006:  Jody Elizabeth Cedzidlo
2005:  Jonathan Westleigh Harmon
2004:  Estie Saunders, Brenna Katharine Murphy
2003:  Claire Elisabeth Anne Hartman
2002:  Bennett Taylor Dansby
2001:  Emerson Christopher Carlton Holt
2000:  Huong Ngoc Ngo
1999:  Laura Lee Snoderly
1998:  Paul Bardinas